Active Learning on

Help for non-UK Readers

This website may not be as easy to use for international visitors as you’d like because every activity is described in terms of the English educational system. To help you translate this into your own system here’s a quick guide.

Key Stages

Pupils' schooling is divided into 5 phases, or Key Stages:

Key Stage 1: 4-7 year olds

Key Stage 2: 7-11 year olds

Key Stage 3: 11-14 year olds

History ceases to be compulsory in the English National Curriculum at the age of 14.

Key Stage 4: 14-16 year olds (this is also known as GCSE, the title of the examination)

Key Stage 5: 16-18 year olds (this is also known as A level or Advanced level which is sub-divided into AS and A2)

Do You Teach Different Topics?

You may not teach any of the topics that are included in this site but remember that the types (or 'models') of the activities (e.g. role plays or timelines) are highly transferable [ here… ].

Euroclio Website

International users may be interested in the website of Euroclio, the European organization for History teachers and educators [ ]







This Section

Are All History Books the Same? Updated 2019

Relationship With The Past

Flipped Learning & Independent Study

Helping Students with Provenance

40 Years On

Ian Coulson Bursary: Resources

Coulson's 'Handy' Guide

Music in the Classroom

Fieldwork Review

Fieldwork Case Study

Using Family & Personal Histories

Random Acts of Kindness

Open Evenings – Capturing Imagination

Help for non-UK Readers


And …

Other general issues which you can find via the navigation tabs at the top of every page:

Chronological Understanding

Raising Attainment

Teaching Medieval History in Schools


Planning Issues at KS3